Last year in January I was in Tamale for only three days. I went to visit my mother, before going back to school for the next semester at the University of Ghana (I’ll be dealing with this one later).

As usual, I did my bird quest. Tamale, at my very backyard, did not disappoint me, really. Of course, this is expected since I did not really expect much, but still, it was a good morning of birding. Especially because I thought I spotted the black-headed gonolek!

The bird, as you may know, should not be found in Ghana. I occurs in East and Central Africa. Yet here I was, field guide in hand, tailing this pair for the better part of twenty minutes, noting the calls and losing the battle against the doubt of my education: the bird could not be the bird, yet there they were, singing and happy!

I have thought about the pair for a year now, and am preparing to return next January and ‘hunt’ or more like ‘watch’ it down.

Will surely keep you posted. Meantime, here’s what else I found, just behind me casa. Nothing inspiring.

Laughing dove: I respect this bird. It’s everywhere!
Pied Crow: Tamale is peopled enough for this bird, but I must say that I did not see more than ten of them while I was in Tamale.
Cattle Egret: For sure
Yellow-billed Shrike
Northern Grey-headed Sparrow: In Ghana, this ubuquitous bird is called “bola bird”, bola meaning rubbish heap. That morning I ran into a flock of i bet five hundred birds!
Common Bulbul
Village Weaver
Woodland Kingfisher: I wonder if this bird has always been so common. Will check on it.
Green Wood-hoopoe: In those early days I did not accept this name; I only say black. Light is important.
Black Kite: Graceful.Maybe because it’s the most available raptor to admire in Ghana’s towns and villages.
Senegal Coucal
African Thrush: Lovely singing

Hey, I didn’t stay out long: got called in for breakfast.

